Under the scheme, a number of new roads will be laid down withinside the country. 

Total road construction of 34,800 kms will be done at an estimated cost of Rs.5,35,000 crore. 

The central government has the plans of completing the phase I of the scheme within a span of 5 years. 

The launch of the scheme has been finished to carry a brand new wave of improvement.

Bharatmala Pariyojana is a new program for the highways region that focuses on optimizing performance of freight and passenger motion throughout the country.

Powerful interventions like development of Economic Corridors, Inter Corridors and Feeder Routes, National Corridor Efficiency Improvement, Border and International connectivity roads, Coastal and Port connectivity roads , Green-field expressways and Balance NHDP works will be carried out for bridging crucial infrastructure gaps.


Following are the features of the scheme:-

i) Improving the quality of roads :

The launch of the scheme has been finished to carry a brand new wave of improvement withinside the country in the form of well-maintained and developed roads. Under this project, the development of roads, in all parts of the country will be undertaken.

ii) Total road construction :

As consistent with the draft of the scheme, government and the ministry will attempt to finish new roads, which will add up to a whopping 34, 800 kms.

iii) Integrated scheme :

The Bharatmala is the name that is given to the road development and it’ll consist of many different associated schemes as well. With the crowning glory of all of the schemes, the overall achievement of the scheme will be guaranteed.

iv) Total tenure of the program :

The central government has the plans of completing the scheme within a span of 5 years.

v) Segmentation in phases :

Due to the sheer magnitude and spread of the scheme, it’ll be divided into seven distinct phases. As of now, the first phase is under construction.

vi) Constriction on a day by day basis :

To end the first phase in time, the respective department has made efforts of constructing at the least 18 km of course on a every day basis. To beat the clock, persisted efforts are being made to elevate it to 30 km/day.

vii) Different categories of road construction :

It has been highlighted withinside the authentic draft of the scheme that to offer better connectivity, the construction of numerous categories of roads will be undertaken.

viii) Multi-source of funding :

One source of funding will not be sufficient for such a huge project. Thus, the government will need to rely on different sources for producing good enough money to meet the expenses.

A total of around 24,800 kms are being taken into consideration in Phase I of Bharatmala. In addition, Bharatmala Pariyojana phase -I additionally consists of 10,000 kms of balance road works under NHDP, taking the total to 34,800 kms at an estimated cost of Rs.5,35,000 crore. Bharatmala Phase I – is to be carried out over a 5 years duration of i.e. 2017-18 to 2021-22.


i) Economic Corridors :

As per the guidelines of the road construction project, the construction of 9000kms of Economic Corridors can be undertaken by the central government.

44 corridors 26,200 km (16,300 mi) were identified and 9,000 km (5,600 mi) will be taken up in phase-I.

44 Economic Corridors (EC) are:-

EC-1: Mumbai-Kolkata

EC-2: Mumbai-Kanyakumari

EC-3: Amritsar-Jamnagar

EC-4: Kandla-Sagar

EC-5: Agra-Mumbai

EC-6: Pune-Vijayawada

EC-7: Raipur-Dhanbad

EC-8: Ludhiana-Ajmer

EC-9: Surat-Nagpur

EC-10: Hyderabad-Panaji

EC-11: Jaipur-Indore

EC-12: Solapur-Nagpur

EC-13: Sagar-Varanasi

EC-14: Kharagpur-Siliguri

EC-15: Raipur-Vishakapatnam

EC-16: Delhi-Lucknow

EC-17: Chennai-Kurnool

EC-18: Indore-Nagpur

EC-19: Chennai-Madurai

EC-20: Mangalore-Raichur

EC-21: Tuticorin-Cochin

EC-22: Solapur-Bellary-Gooty

EC-23: Hyderabad-Aurangabad

EC-24: Delhi-Kanpur

EC-25: Tharad-Phalodi

EC-26: Nagaur-Mandi Dabawli

EC-27: Sagar-Lucknow

EC-28: Sambalpur-Paradeep

EC-29: Amreli-Vadodra

EC-30: Godhra-Khargone

EC-31: Sambalpur-Ranchi

EC-32: Bengaluru-Malappuram

EC-33: Raisen-Pathariya

EC-34: Bengaluru-Mangalore

EC-35: Chittaurgarh-Indore

EC-36: Bilaspur-New Delhi

EC-37: Solapur-Mahabubnagar

EC-38: Bengaluru-Nellore

EC-39: Ajmer-Udaipur

EC-40: Sirsa-Delhi

EC-41: Sirohi-Beawar

EC-42: Jaipur-Agra

EC-43: Pune-Aurangabad

EC-44: North East Corridor

24 logistics parks entailing 45% of India’s freight traffic were identified to be connected by Bharatmala economic corridors (EC).

  • Bengaluru
  • Hyderabad
  • North Punjab
  1. Jalandhar
  2. Amritsar
  3. Gurdaspur
  • South Punjab
  1. Ludhiana
  2. Sangrur
  3. Patiala
  • NCR
  1. Delhi
  2. Faridabad 
  3. (IMT Manesar)
  4. Narnaul 
  5. (Nangal Choudhary IMHL)
  6. Ghaziabad
  • North Gujarat
  1. Ahmedabad
  2. Vadodara
  • South Gujarat
  1. Surat
  2. Bharuch
  • Maharashtra
  1. Mumbai
  2. Mumbai suburbs
  3. Jawaharlal Nehru Port
  4. Mumbai Port Trust
  5. Thane
  6. Raigad

North East Economic corridor will connect 7 state capitals and 7 multimodal waterways terminals on Brahmaputra on the bharatmala route.

  1. Dhubri
  2. Silghat
  3. Biswanath Ghat
  4. Neamati
  5. Dibrugarh
  6. Sengajan
  7. Oriyamghat

ii) Inter Corridors and Feeder routes :

The total length of the roads, which fall under the Feeder Route or Inter Corridor class, is about 6000kms.

iii) National Corridor Efficiency Improvement :

5000kms of roads, constructed under the scheme will fall in the category of National Corridor for the better connection between roads.

New ring roads in Bharatmala include:-

  • Agra
  • Amaravati
  • Belgaum
  • Bengaluru
  • Bhubaneswar
  • Chitradurga
  • Delhi
  • Dhanbad
  • Dhule
  • Gurugram
  • Indore
  • Jaipur
  • Kota
  • Jodhpur
  • Lucknow
  • Madurai
  • Nagpur
  • Noida
  • Patna
  • Pune
  • Raipur
  • Ranchi
  • Sambalpur
  • Shivpuri
  • Solapur
  • Srinagar
  • Surat
  • Udaipur
  • Varanasi
  • Vijayawada

iv) Border Road and International Connectivity:

Connecting the cities and remote regions, which are located in the border regions, the project has kept provision for constructing 2000kms roads that fall in the Border Road or International Connectivity category.

v) Port Connectivity and Coastal Road :

To connect the areas which are dotted along the shorelines and important ports, the central government has ordered the construction of 2000km of roads.

vi) Green Field Expressway :

The main stress will be given on the construction and development of Green Field Expressway for better management of traffic and freight.

vii) Balance National Highways Development Project (NHDP) Works :

Under the last segment, the project will see a construction and maintenance of about 10,000kms of new roads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *